page top

Stores - Abernethy's (Burlington, VT)

Add to bookbag Add to Bookbag | Bookbag (0)

Item Description

Title: Stores - Abernethy's (Burlington, VT)

Photographer

  • McAllister, L. L. (Louis L.), 1877-1963

Source Document

Extent: 1 image

Date Created:  , 1945

Description

Built on the site where George Perkins Marsh once lived, what would later be known simply as "Abernethy's" was first called "The Richardson" (built 1894), named after the pharmaceutical businessman Albert E. Richardson. It stands on the southeast corner of Pearl and Church Streets. After Abernethy's, the department store, closed in 1983, the building was renovated and renamed "Richardson Place." The architectural style is known as "Scoto-French," apparently because of its blend of French chateau and Scottish castle features.

Genre(s): photographs, black-and-white photographs

Subject/topic

Subject/geographic

Note [Digital Version]

2009-10-23, Center for Digital Initiatives, University of Vermont Libraries

Type of Resource: still image

Parent Collections

Access Conditions

For usage rights related to this resource please visit: http://cdi.uvm.edu/rights/
More information.

Permanent Link:

http://cdi.uvm.edu/collections/item/mcalB18F10i01

Preferred citation

Stores - Abernethy's (Burlington, VT), Louis L. McAllister Photographs, Box B18, Folder 10, Item 01, http://cdi.uvm.edu/collections/item/mcalB18F10i01 (accessed September 23, 2014)

Add a comment:

*

* Optional

User Comments